MLB Baseball

#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
4.19 7-9 155
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 29 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 7-9, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Wednesday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST9:43 PM CST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed four runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Washington Nationals 8-7 on Friday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST3:22 PM CST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 7-8, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Saturday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 7-7, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 on Sunday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Monday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 7-6, allowing two runs on two hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 12-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 6-6, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1 on Thursday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 5-6, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Friday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Sunday. Gray struck out two, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 4-6, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-4 on Thursday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 3-6, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the New York Mets 6-2 on Friday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 25 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-6, allowing eight runs on eight hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 10-6 on Sunday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 18 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 2-5, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-0 on Sunday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 8 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST12:28 PM CST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Gray (strained rib cage) has been activated from the injured list and will start Sunday's game against the Brewers.
Analysis: The Reds put Gray on the IL one day after he struck out seven over seven innings of two-run ball in a 5-2 win over the Royals on July 7. It was his second start since returning from a 3 1/2-week stint on the IL due to a right groin strain.
July 7 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Wednesday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)2:29 PM CT-Gray (right groin strain) has been activated from the injured list to start Friday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Gray (1-4, 3.42) has been declared ready to go after throwing 53 pitches while throwing three scoreless innings in Saturday's rehab start for Triple-A Louisville. The right-hander may be on a pitch limit for Friday's outing, so fantasy players should take note.
June 8 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1 on Tuesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 1 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 1-4, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 17-3 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 27 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 1-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Washington Nationals 3-0 on Thursday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 22 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST5:23 PM CST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed three runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Saturday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 17 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-3, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-3 on Monday. Gray struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 12 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Wednesday. Gray struck out five, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 5 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-2, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 11, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Friday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 2.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST6:03 PM CST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Saturday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 15 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST4:35 PM CST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Gray (back) will make his season debut Saturday against the Indians.
Analysis: Gray is believed to be fully stretched out after throwing a simulated game this past Saturday, so he should be worth considering for daily lineups. The right-hander sports a very solid 3.07 ERA in two seasons since joining the Reds in 2019.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.