MLB Baseball

#40
Alex Wood
ERA W-L K
5.80 1-3 30
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-4 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1991 Birthplace: Charlotte, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 2 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST3:44 PM CST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Wood (back) will not start Tuesday against the Phillies.
Analysis: A back injury prevented Wood from making his Reds debut until July 28, and the left-hander is just 1-3 with a 5.80 ERA in seven starts.
Aug. 29 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Miami Marlins 4-3 on Thursday. Wood struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.80 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-3, allowing five runs - four earned - on two hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 14-0 on Saturday. Wood struck out one, ending the game with a 6.07 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-2, allowing five runs - four earned - on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Sunday. Wood struck out six, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Alex Wood fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 3-1 on Tuesday. Wood struck out four, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed five runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 12-5 on Thursday. Wood struck out two, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Alex Wood improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Friday. Wood struck out five, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Alex Wood allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Sunday. Wood struck out four, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 18 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST6:22 PM CST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)6:22 PM CT-Wood (back) will make his belated season and Reds debut Sunday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Wood is finally ready to go after throwing 85 pitches Monday in his fourth minor league rehab start, a six-inning outing for Double-A Chattanooga in which he allowed just one run. The left-hander, who went 16-3 for the Dodgers in 2017, could be a useful stretch-run pickup provided he can stay healthy.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Atl 3 3 0 - 0 31 11 0 77.2 76 29 27 3 27 1 77 1.33 3.13
2014 Atl 11 11 0 - 0 35 24 1 171.2 151 58 53 16 45 1 170 1.14 2.78
2015 Atl 7 6 0 - 0 20 20 0 119.1 132 50 47 8 36 2 90 1.41 3.54
2015 LAD 5 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 70.1 66 36 34 7 23 2 49 1.27 4.35
2015 Tot 12 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 189.2 198 86 81 15 59 4 139 1.36 3.84
2016 LAD 1 4 0 - 0 14 10 0 60.1 56 30 25 5 20 0 66 1.26 3.73
2017 LAD 16 3 0 - 0 27 25 0 152.1 123 50 46 15 38 6 151 1.06 2.72
2018 LAD 9 7 0 - 0 33 27 0 151.2 143 70 62 14 40 5 135 1.21 3.68
2019 Cin 1 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 35.2 41 25 23 11 9 0 30 1.40 5.80
Career 53 43 0 - 0 179 136 1 839.0 788 348 317 79 238 17 768 1.22 3.40

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl 31 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Atl 35 41 1 3 0 0 0 2 2 28 0 0 .073 .116 .073
2015 Atl 20 33 1 5 1 0 0 4 3 21 0 0 .152 .222 .182
2015 LAD 12 22 1 4 1 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .182 .217 .227
2015 Tot 32 55 2 9 2 0 0 4 4 34 0 0 .164 .220 .200
2016 LAD 15 16 2 4 0 0 0 2 1 9 0 0 .250 .294 .250
2017 LAD 27 52 1 3 0 0 0 4 2 29 0 0 .058 .093 .058
2018 LAD 33 44 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 25 1 0 .045 .045 .045
2019 Cin 7 9 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .222 .222 .222
Career 180 238 8 23 2 0 0 12 9 145 1 0 .097 .130 .105

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.2 6 8 0 2 0 0 6 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 3 4 0 1 0 0 3 0.00
2015 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 8 8 8 2 4 2 4 18.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 4 4 4 1 2 1 2 18.00
2016 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2017 LAD Total 0 2 0 - 0 6 4 0 24.2 10 8 8 8 4 0 26 2.92
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 3 3 3 0 0 7 5.79
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.2 1 1 1 1 2 0 6 1.17
2018 LAD Total 2 2 0 - 0 18 0 0 13.1 16 8 8 6 8 4 18 5.40
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.0 3 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.1 2 1 1 1 3 2 6 2.70
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.1 3 2 2 1 1 0 2 7.71
Career 1 2 0 - 0 16 2 0 26.1 22 16 12 9 8 3 28 4.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl Total 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    LDS 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2017 LAD Total 6 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 16 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 295 93 87 90 50.34
Curveball 145 84 79 81.5 24.74
Changeup 146 85 81 83.7 24.91

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.