MLB Baseball

#31
Ian Kennedy
ERA W-L K
2.53 0-0 25
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-0 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 12/19/1984 Birthplace: Huntington Beach, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
June 9 10:11 AM PT11:11 AM MT12:11 PM CT1:11 PM ET13:11 ET17:11 GMT1:11 10:11 AM MST12:11 PM EST11:11 AM CST12:41 PM VEN21:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Kennedy has been placed on the 10-day injured list due to a strained left hamstring. The move is retroactive to June 6.
Analysis: Kennedy was tied for third in the AL with 12 saves before landing on the IL. He's posted a 2.53 ERA and struck out 25 in 21 1/3 innings over 21 appearances. Josh Sborz could take over at closer with Kennedy sidelined.
June 4 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his 12th save, allowing two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Friday. Kennedy struck out one, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:08 PM PT10:08 PM MT11:08 PM CT12:08 AM ET0:08 ET4:08 GMT12:08 9:08 PM MST11:08 PM EST10:08 PM CST11:38 PM VEN8:08 UAE10:08 PM CT-Ian Kennedy walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Tuesday. Kennedy struck out one, ending the game with a 1.77 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 23 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST4:23 PM CST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Ian Kennedy did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Sunday. Kennedy struck out two, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 22 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE10:21 PM CT-Ian Kennedy blew his first save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.1 innings, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Houston Astros 7-5 on Friday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the New York Yankees 5-2 on Monday. Kennedy struck out one, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 14 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE10:02 PM CT-Ian Kennedy walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Thursday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his 10th save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Seattle Mariners 9-8 on Saturday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Minnesota Twins 3-1 on Wednesday. Kennedy struck out three, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Tuesday. Kennedy struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Sunday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-6 on Saturday. Kennedy struck out three, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Thursday. Kennedy struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Ian Kennedy did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 9-4 on Monday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Ian Kennedy allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Wednesday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE10:56 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-4 on Monday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Ian Kennedy did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 1-0 on Sunday. Kennedy struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Thursday. Kennedy struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST4:06 PM CST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Ian Kennedy allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the San Diego Padres 2-0 on Sunday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Kennedy struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Ian Kennedy recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Tuesday. Kennedy did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Ian Kennedy allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Sunday. Kennedy struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 NYY 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.0 13 6 4 1 9 0 15 1.16 1.89
2008 NYY 0 4 0 - 0 10 9 0 39.2 50 37 36 5 26 0 27 1.92 8.17
2009 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 1 2.00 0.00
2010 Ari 9 10 0 - 0 32 32 0 194.0 163 87 82 26 70 2 168 1.20 3.80
2011 Ari 21 4 0 - 0 33 33 1 222.0 186 73 71 19 55 0 198 1.09 2.88
2012 Ari 15 12 0 - 0 33 33 1 208.1 216 101 93 28 55 4 187 1.30 4.02
2013 Ari 3 8 0 - 0 21 21 0 124.0 128 79 72 18 48 1 108 1.42 5.23
2013 SD 4 2 0 - 0 10 10 0 57.1 52 29 27 9 25 0 55 1.34 4.24
2013 Tot 7 10 0 - 0 31 31 0 181.1 180 108 99 27 73 1 163 1.40 4.91
2014 SD 13 13 0 - 0 33 33 0 201.0 189 85 81 16 70 4 207 1.29 3.63
2015 SD 9 15 0 - 0 30 30 0 168.1 166 95 80 31 52 4 174 1.30 4.28
2016 KC 11 11 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.2 173 81 80 33 66 1 184 1.22 3.68
2017 KC 5 13 0 - 0 30 30 0 154.0 143 99 92 34 61 2 131 1.32 5.38
2018 KC 3 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 119.2 125 66 62 20 40 2 105 1.38 4.66
2019 KC 3 2 30 - 34 63 0 0 63.1 64 24 24 6 17 1 73 1.28 3.41
2020 KC 0 2 0 - 0 15 1 0 14.0 20 17 14 7 5 1 15 1.79 9.00
2021 Tex 0 0 12 - 13 21 0 0 21.1 16 6 6 2 7 2 25 1.08 2.53
Career 97 105 42 - 47 390 290 2 1802.2 1704 885 824 255 608 24 1673 1.28 4.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Ari 33 54 7 11 1 0 0 2 7 24 0 0 .204 .290 .222
2011 Ari 34 61 3 8 3 0 0 4 4 24 0 0 .131 .197 .180
2012 Ari 33 51 4 4 0 1 0 6 11 29 0 0 .078 .238 .118
2013 Ari 22 37 0 5 2 0 0 1 2 19 0 0 .135 .179 .189
2013 SD 10 16 1 2 1 0 0 0 3 9 0 0 .125 .263 .188
2013 Tot 32 53 1 7 3 0 0 1 5 28 0 0 .132 .207 .189
2014 SD 33 52 3 6 1 0 1 5 5 24 0 0 .115 .193 .192
2015 SD 30 42 3 4 3 0 0 0 0 23 0 0 .095 .095 .167
2016 KC 33 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 KC 30 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .333 .500 .333
2018 KC 22 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 393 321 21 42 11 1 1 18 33 154 0 0 .131 .213 .181

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Ari Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 25.1 26 12 12 2 6 0 16 4.26
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 13 6 6 1 3 0 8 4.26
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 13 6 6 1 3 0 8 4.26

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Ari Total 4 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 260 96 92 94.4 82.02
Curveball 19 82 78 79.6 5.99
Changeup 33 89 85 87.5 10.41
Cut Fastball 5 90 87 88.4 1.58

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.