MLB Baseball

#34
J.A. Happ
ERA W-L K
5.79 10-8 122
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-5 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1982 Birthplace: Peru, Illinois
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Phillies (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 30 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 10-8, allowing three runs on nine hits in 6.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Thursday. Happ struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST3:03 PM CST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed two hits and four walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-5 on Friday. Happ struck out six, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Diego Padres 8-7 on Sunday. Happ struck out two, ending the game with a 6.02 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 9-8, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-0 on Sunday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 8-8, allowing four runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Tuesday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 8-7, allowing seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 12-2 on Wednesday. Happ did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.20 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 8-6, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Friday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 5.76 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Saturday. Happ struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.88 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST3:19 PM CST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 7-6, allowing five hits and two walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-2 on Sunday. Happ struck out two, ending the game with a 6.03 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 6-6, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-1 on Tuesday. Happ struck out five, ending the game with a 6.34 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE10:39 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Wednesday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.62 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 28 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST3:20 PM CST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 5-6, allowing nine runs on 10 hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Detroit Tigers 17-14 on Wednesday. Happ struck out two, ending the game with a 6.77 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
July 23 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Friday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 18 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST1:48 PM CST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE1:48 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 5-5, allowing seven runs on 11 hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-0 on Sunday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 8 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 5-4, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Thursday. Happ struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.90 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 2 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 4-4, allowing six runs - five earned - on nine hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-4 on Friday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.09 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 27 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-2 on Sunday. Happ struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 22 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST11:35 PM CST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed three runs on five hits and five walks in 4.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Monday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 6.09 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 3-3, allowing six runs - five earned - on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Seattle Mariners 10-0 on Tuesday. Happ struck out five, ending the game with a 6.12 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 11 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST10:46 PM CST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE10:46 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the New York Yankees 7-5 on Thursday. Happ struck out two, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 4 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed five runs on nine hits in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Thursday. Happ struck out two, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 29 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Saturday. Happ struck out five, ending the game with a 5.24 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 23 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST3:02 PM CST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-5 on Sunday. Happ struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 2-2, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Chicago White Sox 16-4 on Monday. Happ struck out one, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 13 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE10:00 PM CT-J.A. Happ fell to 2-1, allowing nine runs on nine hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Chicago White Sox 13-8 on Wednesday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Texas Rangers 6-3 on Tuesday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 1.91 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cleveland Indians 10-2 on Wednesday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-J.A. Happ improved to 1-0, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.1 scoreless innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-0 on Friday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Happ struck out three, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST3:18 PM CST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-J.A. Happ allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Tuesday. Happ struck out four, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Phi 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 7 5 5 3 2 0 5 2.25 11.25
2008 Phi 1 0 0 - 0 8 4 0 31.2 28 13 13 3 14 1 26 1.33 3.69
2009 Phi 12 4 0 - 0 35 23 3 166.0 149 55 54 20 56 2 119 1.23 2.93
2010 Phi 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 13 4 3 1 12 0 9 1.63 1.76
2010 Hou 5 4 0 - 0 13 13 1 72.0 60 33 30 7 35 1 61 1.32 3.75
2010 Tot 6 4 0 - 0 16 16 1 87.1 73 37 33 8 47 1 70 1.37 3.40
2011 Hou 6 15 0 - 0 28 28 0 156.1 157 103 93 21 83 5 134 1.54 5.35
2012 Hou 7 9 0 - 0 18 18 0 104.1 112 58 56 17 39 0 98 1.45 4.83
2012 Tor 3 2 0 - 0 10 6 0 40.1 35 21 21 2 17 1 46 1.29 4.69
2012 Tot 10 11 0 - 0 28 24 0 144.2 147 79 77 19 56 1 144 1.40 4.79
2013 Tor 5 7 0 - 0 18 18 0 92.2 91 53 47 10 45 0 77 1.47 4.56
2014 Tor 11 11 0 - 0 30 26 0 158.0 160 79 74 22 51 0 133 1.34 4.22
2015 Sea 4 6 0 - 0 21 20 0 108.2 121 58 56 13 32 3 82 1.41 4.64
2015 Pit 7 2 0 - 0 11 11 0 63.1 52 13 13 3 13 1 69 1.03 1.85
2015 Tot 11 8 0 - 0 32 31 0 172.0 173 71 69 16 45 4 151 1.27 3.61
2016 Tor 20 4 0 - 0 32 32 0 195.0 168 72 69 22 60 0 163 1.17 3.18
2017 Tor 10 11 0 - 0 25 25 0 145.1 145 64 57 18 46 1 142 1.31 3.53
2018 Tor 10 6 0 - 0 20 20 0 114.0 99 61 53 17 35 0 130 1.18 4.18
2018 NYY 7 0 0 - 0 11 11 0 63.2 51 20 19 10 16 0 63 1.05 2.69
2018 Tot 17 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 177.2 150 81 72 27 51 0 193 1.13 3.65
2019 NYY 12 8 0 - 0 31 30 0 161.1 160 88 88 34 49 1 140 1.30 4.91
2020 NYY 2 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.1 37 19 19 8 15 0 42 1.05 3.47
2021 Min 5 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 98.1 125 76 74 21 31 0 77 1.59 6.77
2021 StL 5 2 0 - 0 11 11 0 54.0 52 24 24 9 17 0 45 1.28 4.00
2021 Tot 10 8 0 - 0 30 30 0 152.1 177 100 98 30 48 0 122 1.48 5.79
Career 133 100 0 - 0 354 328 4 1893.2 1822 919 868 261 668 16 1661 1.31 4.13

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Phi 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Phi 8 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Phi 35 43 2 4 1 0 0 1 1 15 0 0 .093 .114 .116
2010 Phi 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2010 Hou 13 22 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Tot 16 26 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 9 0 0 .000 .037 .000
2011 Hou 29 43 3 7 1 0 1 4 3 17 0 0 .163 .217 .256
2012 Hou 22 32 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 16 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2012 Tot 32 32 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 16 0 0 .094 .171 .094
2014 Tor 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2015 Pit 11 22 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2015 Tot 32 23 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .087 .125 .087
2016 Tor 32 7 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .286 .286 .286
2017 Tor 25 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Tor 20 6 2 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .333 .429 .333
2018 Tot 31 6 2 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .333 .429 .333
2019 NYY 32 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 StL 11 14 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .000 .067 .000
2021 Tot 30 14 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .000 .067 .000
Career 360 211 13 20 2 0 1 6 11 91 0 0 .095 .140 .118

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 Phi Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.00
2009 Phi Total 0 0 0 - 0 7 1 0 6.1 8 4 4 1 6 0 8 5.68
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 3.0 6 3 3 0 2 0 4 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 0.2 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 2 1 1 1 1 0 4 3.38
2016 Tor Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 13 3 3 1 2 0 9 2.70
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 9 1 1 0 1 0 5 1.80
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 1 1 0 4 3.60
2018 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 4 5 5 1 1 0 2 22.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 4 5 5 1 1 0 2 22.50
2019 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.2 2 1 1 1 2 0 3 2.45
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 1 1 1 1 1 0 1 3.38
2020 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.2 5 4 4 2 3 0 2 13.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.2 5 4 4 2 3 0 2 13.50
Career 1 4 0 - 0 15 4 0 27.2 36 18 18 6 16 0 26 5.86

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Phi Total 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 15 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1927 94 86 90.6 72.06
Curveball 47 82 70 77.4 1.76
Slider 391 87 79 83.1 14.62
Changeup 309 89 83 86.1 11.56

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.