MLB Baseball

#10
Evan Longoria
AVG HR RBI
.280 9 30
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-1 / 213
Position: 3BBorn: 10/7/1985 Birthplace: Downey, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Devil Rays (2006)


Latest News
June 6 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Longoria has been placed on the injured list with a sprain left shoulder and is expected to miss at least six weeks.
Analysis: Shortstop Brandon Crawford collided with Longoria on June 5, and Longoria remained down for several moments as a team trainer came out. Longoria had been enjoying a terrific start to the season and was batting .415 with five homers and 16 RBIs in his last 12 games. Wilmer Flores could be the one getting most of the starts at third with Longoria sidelined, while infielder Thairo Estrada was recalled from Triple-A Sacramento to take Longoria's place on the roster.
June 5 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 1 with a double Saturday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Chicago Cubs 4-3. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .280 with nine home runs this season.
June 5 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Chicago Cubs 8-5. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .275 with nine home runs this season.
May 31 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 2 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Los Angeles Angels 6-1. He's now batting .274 with nine home runs this season.
May 30 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-4. He's now batting .265 with eight home runs this season.
May 29 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-6. Longoria scored twice. He's now batting .267 with eight home runs this season.
May 29 10:56 PM PT11:56 PM MT12:56 AM CT1:56 AM ET1:56 ET5:56 GMT13:56 10:56 PM MST12:56 AM EST11:56 PM CST1:26 AM VEN9:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 1 with a double and two RBIs Friday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-5. He's now batting .262 with seven home runs this season.
May 28 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3. He's now batting .257 with seven home runs this season.
May 27 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST11:36 PM CST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4. He's now batting .257 with six home runs this season.
May 26 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST11:28 PM CST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 3 for 4 with a double, a home run and four RBIs Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-0. Longoria scored twice. He's now batting .257 with six home runs this season.
May 22 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Saturday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3. He's now batting .242 with five home runs this season.
May 22 9:45 PM PT10:45 PM MT11:45 PM CT12:45 AM ET0:45 ET4:45 GMT12:45 9:45 PM MST11:45 PM EST10:45 PM CST12:15 AM VEN8:45 UAE10:45 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 3 Friday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1. Longoria added a stolen base. He's now batting .242 with five home runs this season.
May 20 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 3 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Thursday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Cincinnati Reds 19-4. Longoria scored twice. He's now batting .248 with five home runs this season.
May 19 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Cincinnati Reds 4-0. He's now batting .233 with four home runs this season.
May 18 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Cincinnati Reds 4-2. He's now batting .233 with four home runs this season.
May 16 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)2:23 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Sunday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-1. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .241 with four home runs this season.
May 15 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 5 Saturday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-6. He's now batting .241 with four home runs this season.
May 14 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 4 Friday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-2. He's now batting .252 with four home runs this season.
May 13 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Thursday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1. He's now batting .263 with four home runs this season.
May 11 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Texas Rangers 4-2. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .263 with four home runs this season.
May 11 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE10:35 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 3 Monday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Texas Rangers 3-1. He's now batting .272 with four home runs this season.
May 9 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 3 with a double Sunday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 11-1. He's now batting .281 with four home runs this season.
May 8 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST5:13 PM CST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a double Saturday as the San Francisco Giants beat the San Diego Padres 7-1. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .279 with four home runs this season.
May 8 10:40 PM PT11:40 PM MT12:40 AM CT1:40 AM ET1:40 ET5:40 GMT13:40 10:40 PM MST12:40 AM EST11:40 PM CST1:10 AM VEN9:40 UAE11:40 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with two RBIs Friday as the San Francisco Giants beat the San Diego Padres 5-4. He's now batting .280 with four home runs this season.
May 5 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST5:50 PM CST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Colorado Rockies 6-5. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .282 with four home runs this season.
May 5 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE10:15 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 3 with a double Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Colorado Rockies 8-6. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .284 with four home runs this season.
May 4 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST6:26 PM CST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Colorado Rockies 12-4. He's now batting .268 with four home runs this season.
May 2 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 2 Sunday as the San Francisco Giants topped the San Diego Padres 7-1. He's now batting .275 with four home runs this season.
May 1 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST9:42 PM CST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 2 Saturday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the San Diego Padres 6-2. He's now batting .284 with four home runs this season.
May 1 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST11:31 PM CST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE11:31 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 4 Friday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the San Diego Padres 3-2. He's now batting .292 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 29 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE11:18 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Colorado Rockies 7-3. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .311 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 27 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST10:17 PM CST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE10:17 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 2 with a double and three RBIs Monday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Colorado Rockies 12-0. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .316 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 23 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE10:15 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 0 Thursday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Miami Marlins 3-0. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .291 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 20 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 5 with a double Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Philadelphia Phillies 10-7. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .291 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 19 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a double Monday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .300 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 18 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)2:07 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 1 Sunday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Miami Marlins 1-0. He's now batting .304 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 17 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a double Saturday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 7-6. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .311 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 16 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Miami Marlins 4-1. He's now batting .317 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 14 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST4:22 PM CST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 0 Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Cincinnati Reds 3-0. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .316 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 14 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-6. Longoria scored twice. He's now batting .316 with four home runs this season.
Apr. 13 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST10:26 PM CST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE10:26 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 4 Monday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the Cincinnati Reds 3-0. He's now batting .294 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 11 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 4 with two RBIs Sunday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Colorado Rockies 4-0. He's now batting .333 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 10 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 Saturday as the San Francisco Giants beat the Colorado Rockies 4-3. He's now batting .308 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 7 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST6:16 PM CST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the San Francisco Giants topped the San Diego Padres 3-2. Longoria scored once. He's now batting .318 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 7 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the San Francisco Giants fell to the San Diego Padres 3-1. He's now batting .278 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 6 12:12 AM PT1:12 AM MT2:12 AM CT3:12 AM ET3:12 ET7:12 GMT15:12 12:12 AM MST2:12 AM EST1:12 AM CST2:42 AM VEN11:12 UAE1:12 AM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the San Francisco Giants beat the San Diego Padres 3-2. He's now batting .333 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 6 12:12 AM PT1:12 AM MT2:12 AM CT3:12 AM ET3:12 ET7:12 GMT15:12 12:12 AM MST2:12 AM EST1:12 AM CST2:42 AM VEN11:12 UAE1:12 AM CT-Evan Longoria went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the San Francisco Giants beat the San Diego Padres 3-2. He's now batting .333 with three home runs this season.
Apr. 4 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST10:13 PM CST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE10:13 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 0 for 4 Saturday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-0. He's now batting .364 with two home runs this season.
Apr. 3 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST11:32 PM CST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Friday as the San Francisco Giants topped the Seattle Mariners 6-3. He's now batting .571 with two home runs this season.
Apr. 2 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST12:01 AM CST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE12:01 AM CT-Evan Longoria went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Thursday as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-7. He's now batting .500 with one home run this season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB 122 448 67 122 31 2 27 85 46 122 7 0 .272 .343 .531
2009 TB 157 584 100 164 44 0 33 113 72 140 9 0 .281 .364 .526
2010 TB 151 574 96 169 46 5 22 104 72 124 15 5 .294 .372 .507
2011 TB 133 483 78 118 26 1 31 99 80 93 3 2 .244 .355 .495
2012 TB 74 273 39 79 14 0 17 55 33 61 2 3 .289 .369 .527
2013 TB 160 614 91 165 39 3 32 88 70 162 1 0 .269 .343 .498
2014 TB 162 624 83 158 26 1 22 91 57 133 5 0 .253 .320 .404
2015 TB 160 604 74 163 35 1 21 73 51 132 3 1 .270 .328 .435
2016 TB 160 633 81 173 41 4 36 98 42 144 0 3 .273 .318 .521
2017 TB 156 613 71 160 36 2 20 86 46 109 6 1 .261 .313 .424
2018 SF 125 480 51 117 25 4 16 54 22 101 3 1 .244 .281 .413
2019 SF 129 453 59 115 19 2 20 69 43 112 3 1 .254 .325 .437
2020 SF 53 193 26 49 10 1 7 28 11 39 0 1 .254 .297 .425
2021 SF 50 161 28 45 11 0 9 30 25 42 1 1 .280 .376 .516
Career 1792 6737 944 1797 403 26 313 1073 670 1514 58 19 .267 .335 .474

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 TB Total 32 124 20 24 6 0 12 26 10 40 2 0 .194 .254 .532
    LDS 4 15 2 4 0 0 2 3 2 6 1 0 .267 .353 .667
    LCS 7 27 8 7 3 0 4 8 3 5 0 0 .259 .333 .815
    WS 5 20 0 1 0 0 0 2 0 9 0 0 .050 .050 .050
2010 TB Total 10 40 4 8 4 0 2 4 2 8 0 0 .200 .238 .450
    LDS 5 20 2 4 2 0 1 2 1 4 0 0 .200 .238 .450
2011 TB Total 8 32 4 6 0 0 2 6 4 16 0 0 .188 .278 .375
    LDS 4 16 2 3 0 0 1 3 2 8 0 0 .188 .278 .375
2013 TB Total 10 34 4 6 0 0 2 6 6 12 0 0 .176 .300 .353
    WC 1 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 4 13 1 2 0 0 1 3 3 4 0 0 .154 .313 .385
Career 30 115 16 22 5 0 9 21 11 38 1 0 .191 .262 .470


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.