MLB Baseball

#33
Kwang Hyun Kim
ERA S K
3.60 0 44
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 7/22/1988 Birthplace: Seoul, South Korea
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2019)


Latest News
June 20 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST7:11 PM CST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-5, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 1-0 on Sunday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on three hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 4 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Kim (back stiffness) has been removed from the injured list and will start Tuesday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Kim (1-4, 4.05) will wind up missing only one start. The Korean lefty had been struggling prior to landing on the IL, as he's posted a 6.59 ERA while losing each of his last three starts.
May 30 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-2 on Sunday. Kim struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Monday. Kim struck out five, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - one earned - on two hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Kim struck out three, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Tuesday. Kim struck out six, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 5 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST5:57 PM CST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-1 on Wednesday. Kim struck out two, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed one run on seven hits in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Friday. Kim struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Kwang Hyun Kim allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-4 on Saturday. Kim struck out four, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 27 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Kim (back) has been activated from the injured list and will make his season debut Saturday against the Phillies.
Analysis: The Korean import is now healthy after missing some time in spring training and will attempt to build off a strong first season in the majors. Kim went 3-0 with a 1.62 ERA and a 1.03 WHIP in eight starts and one relief outing during the shortened 2020 season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 StL 3 0 1 - 1 8 7 0 39.0 28 9 7 3 12 2 24 1.03 1.62
2021 StL 1 5 0 - 0 11 11 0 50.0 48 23 20 6 18 0 44 1.32 3.60
Career 4 5 1 - 1 19 18 0 89.0 76 32 27 9 30 2 68 1.19 2.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 StL 11 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .071 .071 .071
Career 19 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .071 .071 .071

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.1 10 6 6 0 4 0 4 7.36
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 5 3 3 0 2 0 2 7.36


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 384 92 85 89 44.96
Curveball 103 74 66 69.9 12.06
Slider 276 88 72 83.5 32.32
Changeup 91 85 76 81 10.66

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.