MLB Baseball

#63
Diego Castillo
ERA S K
2.70 11 38
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-3 / 250
Position: RPBorn: 1/18/1994 Birthplace: Cabrera, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2014)


Latest News
June 16 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST3:40 PM CST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 8-7 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 15 11:28 PM PT12:28 AM MT1:28 AM CT2:28 AM ET2:28 ET6:28 GMT14:28 11:28 PM MST1:28 AM EST12:28 AM CST1:58 AM VEN10:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Monday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 12 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Saturday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 10 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE10:59 PM CT-Diego Castillo fell to 2-3, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Washington Nationals 9-7 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Washington Nationals 3-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 5 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 3-0 on Saturday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Sunday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 29 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)2:20 PM CT-Diego Castillo improved to 2-2, allowing one hit and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 on Saturday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Saturday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 22 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Diego Castillo improved to 1-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 9-7 on Friday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-7 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 16 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST1:49 PM CST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE1:49 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Mets 7-1 on Sunday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 5 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Castillo (right groin tightness) has been activated from the injured list before Friday's series opener against the Mets.
Analysis: Castillo has notched seven saves thus far as the Rays' primary closer.
May 4 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Diego Castillo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Sunday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Diego Castillo fell to 0-2, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 2-0 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his fifth save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-Castillo has been removed from the COVID-19 injured list.
Analysis: Castillo, who leads the Rays with four saves but has blown two other chances, was not placed on the injured list and therefore didn't have have to wait a full 10 days before being activated.
Apr. 21 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Diego Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-8 on Wednesday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Diego Castillo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 4-2 on Sunday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST2:41 PM CST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 6-3 on Saturday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Diego Castillo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 6-4 on Thursday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)2:58 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Sunday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Diego Castillo blew his first save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 6-4 on Friday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 1-0 on Thursday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 TB 4 2 0 - 2 43 11 0 56.2 36 21 20 6 18 0 65 0.95 3.18
2019 TB 5 8 8 - 10 65 6 0 68.2 59 32 26 8 26 4 81 1.24 3.41
2020 TB 3 0 4 - 5 22 0 0 21.2 12 4 4 3 11 0 23 1.06 1.66
2021 TB 2 3 11 - 13 26 0 0 26.2 22 10 8 4 8 2 38 1.13 2.70
Career 14 13 23 - 30 156 17 0 173.2 129 67 58 21 63 6 207 1.11 3.01

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 TB 43 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 TB 65 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 156 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 2 0 11.1 10 0 0 0 4 0 16 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 3.2 3 0 0 0 2 0 5 0.00
2020 TB Total 2 0 6 - 6 20 0 0 22.0 14 6 4 0 14 0 24 1.59
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.2 4 2 1 0 3 0 3 2.45
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 2.2 1 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.38
Career 1 0 3 - 3 14 1 0 16.2 12 3 2 0 9 0 20 1.08


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 129 98 91 94.9 30.21
Slider 298 90 83 86.9 69.79

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.