MLB Baseball

#63
Diego Castillo
ERA S K
3.14 7 20
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-3 / 250
Position: RPBorn: 1/18/1994 Birthplace: Cabrera, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2014)


Latest News
May 5 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-The Rays have placed Castillo on the injured list due to tightness in his right groin.
Analysis: Castillo, who's notched seven saves thus far as the Rays' primary closer, will be out until at least mid-May. Tampa Bay did activate Pete Fairbanks from the IL in a corresponding move, and he may be the one to step into Castillo's role.
May 4 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Diego Castillo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Sunday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Diego Castillo fell to 0-2, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 2-0 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his fifth save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-Castillo has been removed from the COVID-19 injured list.
Analysis: Castillo, who leads the Rays with four saves but has blown two other chances, was not placed on the injured list and therefore didn't have have to wait a full 10 days before being activated.
Apr. 21 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Diego Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-8 on Wednesday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Diego Castillo walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 4-2 on Sunday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST2:41 PM CST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 6-3 on Saturday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Diego Castillo did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 6-4 on Thursday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)2:58 PM CT-Diego Castillo allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Sunday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST9:57 PM CST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Diego Castillo blew his first save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 6-4 on Friday. Castillo struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Diego Castillo recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 1-0 on Thursday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 TB 4 2 0 - 2 43 11 0 56.2 36 21 20 6 18 0 65 0.95 3.18
2019 TB 5 8 8 - 10 65 6 0 68.2 59 32 26 8 26 4 81 1.24 3.41
2020 TB 3 0 4 - 5 22 0 0 21.2 12 4 4 3 11 0 23 1.06 1.66
2021 TB 0 2 7 - 9 14 0 0 14.1 10 5 5 2 6 1 20 1.12 3.14
Career 12 12 19 - 26 144 17 0 161.1 117 62 55 19 61 5 189 1.10 3.07

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 TB 43 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 TB 65 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 144 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 2 0 11.1 10 0 0 0 4 0 16 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 3.2 3 0 0 0 2 0 5 0.00
2020 TB Total 2 0 6 - 6 20 0 0 22.0 14 6 4 0 14 0 24 1.59
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.2 4 2 1 0 3 0 3 2.45
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 2.2 1 1 1 0 2 0 2 3.38
Career 1 0 3 - 3 14 1 0 16.2 12 3 2 0 9 0 20 1.08


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 72 97 91 94.6 30.77
Slider 162 90 84 86.8 69.23

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.