MLB Baseball

#11
Shane Baz
ERA W-L K
5.00 1-2 30
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 190
Position: SPBorn: 6/17/1999 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2017)


Latest News
July 14 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST1:11 PM CST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE1:11 PM CT-Baz has been diagnosed with a sprained right elbow and placed on the 60-day injured list.
Analysis: This takes Baz, who was rocked for seven runs in 2 1/3 innings in his last start on July 10 to raise his season ERA to 5.00, out of the Rays' rotation until at least mid-September.
July 10 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Shane Baz fell to 1-2, allowing seven runs on eight hits in 2.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cincinnati Reds 10-5 on Sunday. Baz struck out two, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 3 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST3:09 PM CST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Shane Baz improved to 1-1, allowing one run on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Sunday. Baz struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Shane Baz allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Tuesday. Baz struck out six, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Shane Baz allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Wednesday. Baz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:02 PM PT7:02 PM MT8:02 PM CT9:02 PM ET21:02 ET1:02 GMT9:02 6:02 PM MST8:02 PM EST7:02 PM CST8:32 PM VEN5:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Shane Baz allowed two hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 1-0 on Friday. Baz struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Shane Baz fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on three hits and three walks in 2.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Saturday. Baz struck out two, ending the game with a 19.29 ERA and 2.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST3:03 PM CST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Baz (elbow surgery) has been activated from the injured list and will make his season debut Saturday at Minnesota.
Analysis: Baz's recovery has gone as scheduled since having arthroscopic surgery on March 21, with him posting a 1.38 ERA and 20 strikeouts over 13 innings in four minor league rehab appearances. He impressed in his big league debut late last season, allowing three runs with 18 strikeouts across 13 1/3 innings in three starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2021 TB 2 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 13.1 6 3 3 3 3 0 18 0.68 2.03
2022 TB 1 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 27.0 27 15 15 5 9 0 30 1.33 5.00
Career 3 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 40.1 33 18 18 8 12 0 48 1.12 4.02


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 6 3 3 1 1 0 2 11.57
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 6 3 3 1 1 0 2 11.57
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 6 3 3 1 1 0 2 11.57


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 178 99 91 96 40.09
Curveball 64 86 78 82.4 14.41
Slider 165 91 84 87.7 37.16
Changeup 37 91 85 88.5 8.33

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.