MLB Baseball

#66
José Ruiz
ERA S K
3.53 0 42
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-1 / 250
Position: RPBorn: 10/21/1994 Birthplace: Guacara, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 5 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST10:40 PM CST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE10:40 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-1 on Wednesday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 12-11 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 12-11 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 31 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE10:29 PM CT-Jose Ruiz improved to 1-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-4 on Friday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out four, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 21 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-2 on Wednesday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 17 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE10:25 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 7-1 on Friday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 11 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-5 on Sunday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 10 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST5:38 PM CST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 0.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-3 on Saturday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 7 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-1 on Wednesday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 4 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST2:42 PM CST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)2:42 PM CT-Jose Ruiz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Sunday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 8-2 on Friday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 30 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 13-3 on Wednesday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST11:35 PM CST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-3 on Friday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on two hits in 1.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 7-3 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 17 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Jose Ruiz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 10-2 on Thursday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 15 11:28 PM PT12:28 AM MT1:28 AM CT2:28 AM ET2:28 ET6:28 GMT14:28 11:28 PM MST1:28 AM EST12:28 AM CST1:58 AM VEN10:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Monday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 9 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE10:56 PM CT-Jose Ruiz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1 on Tuesday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 5 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST3:25 PM CST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-3 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 1 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST7:19 PM CST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Tuesday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 31 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-1 on Monday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-0 on Wednesday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-4 on Sunday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on two hits in 1.2 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the New York Yankees 7-0 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out three, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 16-4 on Monday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Saturday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.30 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 13 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Thursday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.84 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 13 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE10:00 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 13-8 on Wednesday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.26 ERA and 0.63 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-3 on Tuesday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-3 on Sunday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-0 on Tuesday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-0 on Sunday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Tuesday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Jose Ruiz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 8-4 on Sunday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST12:35 PM CST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE12:35 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Boston Red Sox 11-4 on Monday. Ruiz struck out four, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST5:46 PM CST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Jose Ruiz allowed one run on one hit and three walks in 0.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST3:33 PM CST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-2 on Thursday. Ruiz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-4 on Wednesday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 12:12 AM PT1:12 AM MT2:12 AM CT3:12 AM ET3:12 ET7:12 GMT15:12 12:12 AM MST2:12 AM EST1:12 AM CST2:42 AM VEN11:12 UAE1:12 AM CT-Jose Ruiz did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-0 on Monday. Ruiz struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE10:39 PM CT-Jose Ruiz fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Sunday. Ruiz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 SD 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1.00 0.00
2018 CWS 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 4.1 5 2 2 1 3 0 6 1.85 4.15
2019 CWS 1 4 0 - 1 40 1 0 40.0 56 27 25 6 24 2 35 2.00 5.63
2020 CWS 0 0 0 - 1 5 0 0 4.0 2 1 1 1 0 0 5 0.50 2.25
2021 CWS 1 1 0 - 0 39 0 0 43.1 36 21 17 6 17 1 42 1.22 3.53
Career 2 5 0 - 2 91 1 0 92.2 99 51 45 14 45 3 89 1.55 4.37

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 CWS 39 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 91 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 424 100 94 97.1 60.57
Curveball 230 90 81 85.4 32.86
Slider 11 92 87 90.2 1.57
Changeup 35 92 86 89.4 5

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.