MLB Baseball

#30
Paolo Espino
ERA W-L K
4.30 0-8 92
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 5-10 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 1/10/1987 Birthplace: Panama City, Panama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 10th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 27 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-8, allowing four runs on five hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Tuesday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST1:37 PM CST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-2 on Wednesday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Friday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-2 on Wednesday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST6:17 PM CST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Paolo Espino walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-5 on Sunday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-7, allowing three runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Tuesday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST6:13 PM CST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-5 on Thursday. Espino struck out six, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-6, allowing three runs on seven hits in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Saturday. Espino struck out four, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 10:32 PM PT11:32 PM MT12:32 AM CT1:32 AM ET1:32 ET5:32 GMT13:32 10:32 PM MST12:32 AM EST11:32 PM CST1:02 AM VEN9:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on three hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 6-3 on Friday. Espino struck out four, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST1:37 PM CST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 6-0 on Sunday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Tuesday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-4, allowing five runs on seven hits in 4.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Thursday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Saturday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 26 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST11:29 PM CST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on four hits in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-1 on Monday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 16 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET20:47 ET0:47 GMT8:47 5:47 PM MST7:47 PM EST6:47 PM CST8:17 PM VEN4:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-3, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-3 on Saturday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 10 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Espino struck out four, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 11-0 on Tuesday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 29 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST2:59 PM CST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)2:59 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Wednesday. Espino struck out four, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 24 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Friday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Friday. Espino struck out five, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 12 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)2:52 PM CT-Paolo Espino fell to 0-1, allowing one run on four hits in 3.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Sunday. Espino struck out two, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 9 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-4 on Thursday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
June 2 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST7:29 PM CST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)7:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 8-1 on Thursday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.19 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 30 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 13-5 on Monday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4 on Tuesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-1 on Monday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-0 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 5-1 on Tuesday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Houston Astros 8-0 on Sunday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 13 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Houston Astros 6-1 on Friday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 11 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 8-3 on Wednesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST10:10 PM CST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE10:10 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-0 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 10-2 on Tuesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 11:06 PM PT12:06 AM MT1:06 AM CT2:06 AM ET2:06 ET6:06 GMT14:06 11:06 PM MST1:06 AM EST12:06 AM CST1:36 AM VEN10:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Francisco Giants 14-4 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 12-3 on Sunday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-1 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Paolo Espino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-2 on Wednesday. Espino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-2 on Friday. Espino struck out one, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 3.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 16-4 on Tuesday. Espino struck out four, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Paolo Espino allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 7-3 on Friday. Espino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Mil 0 0 0 - 0 6 2 0 17.2 17 13 12 5 8 0 13 1.42 6.11
2017 Tex 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 6.1 6 4 4 2 2 0 7 1.26 5.68
2017 Tot 0 0 0 - 0 12 2 0 24.0 23 17 16 7 10 0 20 1.38 6.00
2020 Was 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.0 8 3 3 1 2 0 7 1.67 4.50
2021 Was 5 5 1 - 1 35 19 0 109.2 108 53 52 19 25 2 92 1.21 4.27
2022 Was 0 8 0 - 0 41 18 1 113.0 126 57 54 21 22 0 92 1.31 4.30
Career 5 13 1 - 1 90 40 1 252.2 265 130 125 48 59 2 211 1.28 4.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Mil 6 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2017 Tot 12 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2021 Was 35 30 2 5 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .167 .167 .167
Career 90 34 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 16 0 0 .176 .176 .176


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 879 91 85 88.6 47.75
Curveball 481 74 69 71.4 26.13
Slider 393 81 74 77.8 21.35
Changeup 88 86 81 83.7 4.78

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.