MLB Baseball

#44
Joe Musgrove
ERA W-L K
3.12 10-7 169
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-5 / 235
Position: SPBorn: 12/4/1992 Birthplace: El Cajon, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Blue Jays (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 22 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 10-7, allowing four hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-0 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 9-7, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-2 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed five runs - four earned - on nine hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out three, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 9-6, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Musgrove struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST9:55 PM CST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed five runs - two earned - on eight hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Kansas City Royals 13-5 on Friday. Musgrove struck out two, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST10:06 PM CST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE10:06 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one run on four hits in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-6, allowing three runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Miami Marlins 3-0 on Monday. Musgrove struck out five, ending the game with a 2.98 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST11:23 PM CST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one run on six hits in 7.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-4 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 5:00 PM PT6:00 PM MT7:00 PM CT8:00 PM ET20:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 PM MST7:00 PM EST6:00 PM CST7:30 PM VEN4:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-5, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-3 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-4, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-3, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the New York Mets 8-5 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Joe Musgrove walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the NL All-Stars lost to the AL All-Stars 3-2 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 14 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE10:25 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed five runs on nine hits in 5.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-6 on Wednesday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 2.42 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 8 10:37 PM PT11:37 PM MT12:37 AM CT1:37 AM ET1:37 ET5:37 GMT13:37 10:37 PM MST12:37 AM EST11:37 PM CST1:07 AM VEN9:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one hit and four walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 2.09 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
July 1 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-2, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
June 24 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST10:23 PM CST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE10:23 PM CT-Joe Musgrove fell to 8-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out one, ending the game with a 2.12 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
June 18 12:01 PM PT1:01 PM MT2:01 PM CT3:01 PM ET15:01 ET19:01 GMT3:01 12:01 PM MST2:01 PM EST1:01 PM CST2:31 PM VEN23:01 UAE1:01 PM CT-Musgrove has been activated from the COVID-19 injured list to start Thursday against the Phillies.
Analysis: Musgrove cleared protocols earlier this week and will be pitching on a full week's rest. The right-hander is 8-0 in 12 starts this season, and his 1.59 ERA currently ranks second among qualified MLB pitchers.
June 16 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 8-0, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-4 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
June 11 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE10:52 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 7-0, allowing four hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-0 on Friday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 3 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 6-0, allowing one hit and three walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-0 on Friday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 29 11:02 PM PT12:02 AM MT1:02 AM CT2:02 AM ET2:02 ET6:02 GMT14:02 11:02 PM MST1:02 AM EST12:02 AM CST1:32 AM VEN10:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST5:16 PM CST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 5-0, allowing four hits and three walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 1.90 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 15 12:18 PM PT1:18 PM MT2:18 PM CT3:18 PM ET15:18 ET19:18 GMT3:18 12:18 PM MST2:18 PM EST1:18 PM CST2:48 PM VEN23:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed three runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-3 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 8 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 1 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 4-0, allowing one run on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Sunday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.97 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 3-0, allowing five runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-6 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out four, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE10:29 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Tuesday. Musgrove struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.89 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Joe Musgrove improved to 1-0, allowing four hits over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the San Diego Padres defeated the Atlanta Braves 12-1 on Thursday. Musgrove struck out six, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Joe Musgrove allowed two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings as the San Diego Padres defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Saturday. Musgrove struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 Hou 4 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 62.0 59 28 28 9 16 0 55 1.21 4.06
2017 Hou 7 8 2 - 4 38 15 0 109.1 117 59 58 18 28 1 98 1.33 4.77
2018 Pit 6 9 0 - 0 19 19 0 115.1 113 56 52 12 23 3 100 1.18 4.06
2019 Pit 11 12 0 - 0 32 31 0 170.1 168 98 84 21 39 1 157 1.22 4.44
2020 Pit 1 5 0 - 0 8 8 0 39.2 33 17 17 5 16 0 55 1.24 3.86
2021 SD 11 9 0 - 0 32 31 2 181.1 142 68 64 22 54 3 203 1.08 3.18
2022 SD 10 7 0 - 0 28 28 0 170.0 148 67 59 22 36 1 169 1.08 3.12
Career 50 54 2 - 4 168 142 2 848.0 780 393 362 109 212 9 837 1.17 3.84

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Hou 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2017 Hou 38 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Pit 20 31 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .161 .161 .194
2019 Pit 46 51 8 8 2 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .157 .189 .235
2021 SD 40 51 2 7 2 0 0 1 1 23 0 0 .137 .151 .176
Career 191 138 12 20 5 1 0 4 3 55 0 0 .145 .162 .196

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Hou Total 1 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.2 6 6 6 3 1 1 3 8.10
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 2 2 2 0 0 0 0 27.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 3 3 2 1 1 2 6.75
Career 1 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.2 6 6 6 3 1 1 3 8.10


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 788 95 90 92.8 29.83
Curveball 507 84 78 81.4 19.19
Slider 649 86 80 83 24.56
Changeup 160 89 84 86.5 6.06
Cut Fastball 538 93 82 90.1 20.36

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.