MLB Baseball

#18
Kenta Maeda
ERA W-L K
4.66 6-5 113
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-1 / 185
Position: SPBorn: 4/11/1988 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Aug. 23 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST4:04 PM CST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Maeda will seek a second opinion on what the Twins are calling ''right forearm tightness.'' Manager Rocco Baldelli said there are scenarios in which Maeda will have season-ending surgery, but that it wasn't certain.
Analysis: Maeda is 6-5 with a 4.66 ERA in 21 starts after going 6-1 with a 2.70 ERA in 11 outings in 2020 in his first season with the Twins.
Aug. 21 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)2:21 PM CT-Kenta Maeda fell to 6-5, allowing five runs on four hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the New York Yankees 7-1 on Saturday. Maeda struck out five, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 6-4, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 12-0 on Saturday. Maeda struck out four, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST4:23 PM CST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 5-4, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Houston Astros 7-5 on Sunday. Maeda struck out five, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed five runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Tuesday. Maeda struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.65 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 28 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE10:21 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Detroit Tigers 6-5 on Tuesday. Maeda struck out five, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Kenta Maeda fell to 4-4, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Thursday. Maeda struck out six, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 17 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Saturday. Maeda struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Friday. Maeda struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 4-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Sunday. Maeda struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.03 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 30 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE10:22 PM CT-Kenta Maeda fell to 3-3, allowing seven runs on eight hits and five walks in 4.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-6 on Tuesday. Maeda struck out four, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
June 20 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Texas Rangers 4-2 on Sunday. Maeda struck out four, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 15 11:29 PM PT12:29 AM MT1:29 AM CT2:29 AM ET2:29 ET6:29 GMT14:29 11:29 PM MST1:29 AM EST12:29 AM CST1:59 AM VEN10:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Monday. Maeda struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.01 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST10:00 AM CST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE10:00 AM CT-Maeda (right adductor strain and general right arm soreness) has been activated from the injured list and will start Monday against the Mariners.
Analysis: Maeda has really struggled this season, recording a 5.27 ERA in nine starts before landing on the IL May 23. Perhaps the time off will help him regain his excellent 2020 form.
May 22 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST5:50 PM CST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Saturday. Maeda struck out six, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 16 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed five runs - three earned - on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-6 on Sunday. Maeda struck out two, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Chicago White Sox 9-3 on Tuesday. Maeda struck out three, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
May 3 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 2-2, allowing two hits and two walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Texas Rangers 6-5 on Monday. Maeda struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.34 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Kenta Maeda fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on eight hits in 5.2 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-4 on Tuesday. Maeda struck out three, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST6:01 PM CST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed seven runs on eight hits in 3.0 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Oakland Athletics 13-12 on Wednesday. Maeda struck out one, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Kenta Maeda fell to 1-1, allowing three runs - one earned - on seven hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Wednesday. Maeda struck out five, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Kenta Maeda improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Maeda struck out six, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST4:35 PM CST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Kenta Maeda allowed two runs - one earned - on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-5 on Thursday. Maeda struck out five, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 LAD 16 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 175.2 150 72 68 20 50 6 179 1.14 3.48
2017 LAD 13 6 1 - 1 29 25 0 134.1 121 68 63 22 34 1 140 1.15 4.22
2018 LAD 8 10 2 - 2 39 20 0 125.1 115 58 53 13 43 4 153 1.26 3.81
2019 LAD 10 8 3 - 3 37 26 0 153.2 114 70 69 22 51 1 169 1.07 4.04
2020 Min 6 1 0 - 0 11 11 0 66.2 40 20 20 9 10 0 80 0.75 2.70
2021 Min 6 5 0 - 0 21 21 0 106.1 106 60 55 16 32 1 113 1.30 4.66
Career 59 41 6 - 6 169 135 0 762.0 646 348 328 102 220 13 834 1.14 3.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 LAD 35 57 5 7 1 0 1 4 1 16 0 0 .123 .138 .193
2017 LAD 30 39 2 5 1 0 0 4 0 3 0 0 .128 .128 .154
2018 LAD 41 32 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .094 .094 .094
2019 LAD 41 48 3 12 2 0 0 6 0 13 0 0 .250 .250 .292
2021 Min 23 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 181 179 12 28 4 0 1 14 1 42 0 0 .156 .161 .196

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 LAD Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 10.2 12 8 8 1 7 0 12 6.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 5 4 4 1 2 0 4 12.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.2 7 4 4 0 5 0 8 4.70
2017 LAD Total 2 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 10.2 5 1 1 1 2 0 10 0.84
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 5.2 5 1 1 1 2 0 3 1.59
2018 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 6.2 9 3 3 0 3 2 10 4.05
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 3 2 2 0 1 1 3 6.75
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 4 1 1 0 2 1 6 3.00
2019 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 7 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 7 0.00
2020 Min Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 0 0 0 3 0 5 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 0 0 0 3 0 5 0.00
Career 2 1 0 - 0 25 4 0 37.2 29 12 12 2 15 2 44 2.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 LAD Total 3 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    LCS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2017 LAD Total 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 25 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 554 94 86 90.5 31.21
Curveball 68 82 73 75.6 3.83
Slider 648 86 77 82.1 36.51
Changeup 505 87 81 84.3 28.45

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.