MLB Baseball

#64
Shawn Armstrong
ERA S K
5.02 0 42
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225
Position: RPBorn: 9/11/1990 Birthplace: New Bern, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 18th Round by Indians (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 16 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 3-1 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on four hits in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Friday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out four, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-0 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.57 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
July 31 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)2:48 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Guardians 5-3 on Sunday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 28 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST1:35 PM CST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Thursday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 26 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed three hits without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 10 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cincinnati Reds 10-5 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-1 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-4 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
July 3 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST3:09 PM CST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)2:14 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong improved to 1-1, allowing one hit over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 18 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Saturday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 16 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Thursday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Saturday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 11-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 6.94 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
June 5 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-5 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 7.59 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with an 8.68 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST3:17 PM CST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Thursday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 3-0 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-6 on Friday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Saturday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 7.11 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-3 on Saturday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-1 on Friday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE10:25 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-2 on Monday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 8.0 5 2 2 1 2 0 11 0.88 2.25
2016 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 10 0 0 10.2 9 3 3 1 5 2 7 1.31 2.53
2017 Cle 1 0 0 - 0 21 0 0 24.2 23 12 12 5 10 0 20 1.34 4.38
2018 Sea 0 1 1 - 1 14 0 0 14.2 9 2 2 1 3 1 15 0.82 1.23
2019 Sea 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.2 8 6 6 1 3 1 3 3.00 14.73
2019 Bal 1 0 4 - 9 51 0 0 54.1 58 32 31 7 26 0 60 1.55 5.13
2019 Tot 1 1 4 - 9 55 0 0 58.0 66 38 37 8 29 1 63 1.64 5.74
2020 Bal 2 0 0 - 0 14 0 0 15.0 9 6 3 1 3 0 14 0.80 1.80
2021 Bal 0 0 0 - 1 20 0 0 20.0 28 20 19 5 10 0 22 1.90 8.55
2021 TB 1 0 0 - 0 11 0 0 16.0 11 8 8 5 5 0 22 1.00 4.50
2021 Tot 1 0 0 - 1 31 0 0 36.0 39 28 27 10 15 0 44 1.50 6.75
2022 Mia 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.2 10 10 8 1 3 0 5 1.95 10.80
2022 TB 1 1 0 - 0 27 0 0 31.0 35 13 13 3 6 0 37 1.32 3.77
2022 Tot 1 1 0 - 0 34 0 0 37.2 45 23 21 4 9 0 42 1.43 5.02
Career 6 3 5 - 11 187 0 0 204.2 205 114 107 31 76 4 216 1.37 4.71



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 423 98 92 95.5 63.7
Curveball 55 88 83 85.8 8.28
Cut Fastball 186 95 87 91.9 28.01

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.