MLB Baseball

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
3.44 3-6 56
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 234
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Mercer Island, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
June 15 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Boyd has been placed on the injured list with left triceps discomfort.
Analysis: Boyd departed in the third inning of Detroit's win at Kansas City on June 14 because of discomfort in his left arm. The left-hander has had an up-and-down season but had seemed to regroup from a four-start stint in which he posted a 7.84 ERA.
June 15 11:29 PM PT12:29 AM MT1:29 AM CT2:29 AM ET2:29 ET6:29 GMT14:29 11:29 PM MST1:29 AM EST12:29 AM CST1:59 AM VEN10:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five hits without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-3 on Monday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-6, allowing one run - zero earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five runs on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 10-7 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 3.90 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)2:20 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-6, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 22 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST7:11 PM CST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)7:11 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-5, allowing five runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-5 on Saturday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 16 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST2:11 PM CST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)2:11 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-4, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Sunday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-7 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 1.94 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE10:02 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-3, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 11-0 on Thursday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 2.27 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST1:25 PM CST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on three hits in 8.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST10:33 PM CST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE10:33 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Houston Astros 8-2 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 3-2 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)2:27 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and four walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.1 146 87 83 27 51 0 159 1.16 4.39
2019 Det 9 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 185.1 178 101 94 39 50 1 238 1.23 4.56
2020 Det 3 7 0 - 0 12 12 1 60.1 67 46 45 15 22 0 60 1.48 6.71
2021 Det 3 6 0 - 0 13 13 0 70.2 66 30 27 6 19 0 56 1.20 3.44
Career 37 60 0 - 0 147 143 2 776.1 782 449 425 139 244 4 748 1.32 4.93

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 32 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2021 Det 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 147 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .250 .333 .250


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 531 95 87 91.9 47.45
Curveball 84 77 67 73.5 7.51
Slider 251 87 75 80.3 22.43
Changeup 253 83 76 80 22.61

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.