MLB Baseball

#32
Tyler Chatwood
ERA W-L K
5.30 2-2 25
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 12/16/1989 Birthplace: Redlands, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Angels (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 30 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-An MRI on Chatwood's right elbow showed no structural damage, though he will be headed back to the injured list.
Analysis: In his second start since returning from a lower back strain, Chatwood was removed in the third inning of Sunday's game against the Reds with elbow discomfort. Though it seems like he's not dealing with anything too serious, expect him to still miss multiple weeks.
Aug. 25 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Tyler Chatwood fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on three hits and five walks in 1.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-1 on Tuesday. Chatwood struck out two, ending the game with a 6.06 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 11:10 AM PT12:10 PM MT1:10 PM CT2:10 PM ET14:10 ET18:10 GMT2:10 11:10 AM MST1:10 PM EST12:10 PM CST1:40 PM VEN22:10 UAE1:10 PM CT-Chatwood (mid-back tightness) will come off the injured list and start Tuesday against the Tigers.
Analysis: Chatwood was outstanding in his first two starts - striking out 19 while allowing just one run over 12 2/3 innings - before being tagged for eight runs and 11 hits in a loss to the Royals on Aug. 6.
Aug. 6 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Tyler Chatwood fell to 2-1, allowing eight runs on 11 hits in 2.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Kansas City Royals 13-2 on Thursday. Chatwood struck out four, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Tyler Chatwood improved to 2-0, allowing three hits and two walks over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Saturday. Chatwood struck out 11, ending the game with a 0.71 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
July 26 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Tyler Chatwood improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-1 on Sunday. Chatwood struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 LAA 6 11 0 - 0 27 25 0 142.0 166 81 75 14 71 4 74 1.67 4.75
2012 Col 5 6 1 - 1 19 12 0 64.2 74 43 39 9 33 2 41 1.65 5.43
2013 Col 8 5 0 - 0 20 20 1 111.1 118 44 39 5 41 5 66 1.43 3.15
2014 Col 1 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 21 13 12 4 8 0 20 1.21 4.50
2016 Col 12 9 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.0 147 75 68 15 70 2 117 1.37 3.87
2017 Col 8 15 1 - 1 33 25 1 147.2 136 79 77 20 77 2 120 1.44 4.69
2018 ChC 4 6 0 - 0 24 20 0 103.2 92 62 61 9 95 1 85 1.80 5.30
2019 ChC 5 3 2 - 4 38 5 0 76.2 65 33 32 8 37 0 74 1.33 3.76
2020 ChC 2 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 18.2 22 11 11 2 9 0 25 1.66 5.30
Career 51 57 4 - 6 197 143 2 846.2 841 441 414 86 441 16 622 1.51 4.40

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 LAA 27 3 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .667 .667 .667
2012 Col 23 16 1 4 1 0 0 1 1 3 0 0 .250 .294 .313
2013 Col 26 40 3 12 1 0 0 7 2 8 0 0 .300 .333 .325
2014 Col 4 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .100 .100 .100
2016 Col 27 53 3 10 0 1 0 4 2 14 0 0 .189 .218 .226
2017 Col 35 39 5 6 1 0 0 2 1 9 0 0 .154 .175 .179
2018 ChC 25 25 3 4 0 0 0 2 1 6 0 0 .160 .192 .160
2019 ChC 41 18 1 3 2 0 0 1 1 6 0 0 .167 .211 .278
Career 213 204 17 42 5 1 0 17 8 51 0 0 .206 .236 .240


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 171 97 91 94.3 51.35
Curveball 45 84 75 80.4 13.51
Slider 100 92 86 89.9 30.03
Changeup 17 89 82 85.5 5.11

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.