MLB Baseball

#32
Steven Matz
ERA W-L K
9.76 0-5 32
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 201
Position: SPBorn: 5/29/1991 Birthplace: Stony Brook, New York
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Mets (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 23 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the New York Mets lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-5 on Wednesday. Matz struck out two, ending the game with a 9.76 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-5, allowing six runs on eight hits and three walks in 2.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 15-2 on Friday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 9.79 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST4:15 PM CST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Matz (left shoulder bursitis) came off the injured list Sunday.
Analysis: Matz went 0-4 with a 9.00 ERA in five starts before being sent to the bullpen prior to getting injured.
Aug. 29 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Steven Matz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Saturday. Matz struck out two, ending the game with an 8.63 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST7:06 PM CST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-4, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Saturday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-3, allowing eight runs on eight hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 16-4 on Monday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with an 8.20 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-2, allowing five runs on seven hits in 3.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 5-3 on Tuesday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Thursday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 25 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Saturday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYM 4 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 35.2 34 9 9 4 10 0 34 1.23 2.27
2016 NYM 9 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 132.1 129 53 50 14 31 2 129 1.21 3.40
2017 NYM 2 7 0 - 0 13 13 0 66.2 83 46 45 12 19 2 48 1.53 6.08
2018 NYM 5 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 154.0 134 77 68 25 58 2 152 1.25 3.97
2019 NYM 11 10 0 - 0 32 30 1 160.1 163 83 75 27 52 7 153 1.34 4.21
2020 NYM 0 5 0 - 0 8 6 0 27.2 39 30 30 12 9 0 32 1.73 9.76
Career 31 41 0 - 0 111 107 1 576.2 582 298 277 94 179 13 548 1.32 4.32

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM 6 14 1 4 1 0 0 5 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .357
2016 NYM 24 36 0 5 1 1 0 2 4 11 0 0 .139 .220 .222
2017 NYM 17 21 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2018 NYM 30 46 2 5 1 0 2 4 3 13 0 0 .109 .163 .261
2019 NYM 36 57 4 13 0 0 1 1 0 17 0 0 .228 .228 .281
Career 121 174 8 30 3 1 3 13 7 49 0 0 .172 .203 .253

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYM Total 0 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.1 34 12 12 0 8 2 26 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 0 2 1 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 1 1 0 2 0 4 1.93
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 0 0 0 5 3.60
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.2 17 6 6 0 4 1 13 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM Total 6 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 301 97 88 94.4 53.18
Curveball 88 80 72 77.8 15.55
Slider 21 91 86 89.8 3.71
Changeup 156 88 82 84.8 27.56

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.