MLB Baseball

#31
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
2.92 11-7 243
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
Oct. 30 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Houston Astros 6-2 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out three, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.90 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 22 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST9:56 PM CST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Houston Astros 5-4 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 12 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST5:09 PM CST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-0, allowing one hit and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.43 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 7 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-0, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1 on Monday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.13 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 5 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE12:20 AM CT-Max Scherzer did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Friday. Scherzer struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 1 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 11-7, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 10-7, allowing five runs on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 10-6, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-0 on Friday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 10-5, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-4 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.56 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 11-10 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-4 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.46 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out three, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 26 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Scherzer (mild rhomboid strain) came off the injured list Thursday to face the Pirates in Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The three-time Cy Young winner has only pitched once since July 7. He threw five innings July 25 against the Rockies in his first start since missing nearly three weeks with a back issue, but he experienced renewed discomfort. Scherzer permitted three runs to Colorado after posting a 0.87 ERA in winning each of his previous seven starts. It ended a career-best streak of 14 consecutive quality starts.
July 25 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-7 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST11:33 AM CST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Scherzer (back strain) will return to start Thursday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Scherzer will get a chance to attempt to continue the tremendous run he was on before going on the IL earlier this month. The Cy Young candidate has won each of his last seven starts and owns a spectacular 0.84 ERA and 0.77 WHIP over his past nine outings.
July 6 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 9-5, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-0 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.30 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 8-5, allowing one run on four hits in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Detroit Tigers 2-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 14, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Scherzer's next start is scheduled for Saturday against the Royals after he returns to the team following the birth of his child.
June 25 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 7-5, allowing one run on five hits in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 6-1 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 6-5, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 18 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST4:39 PM CST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Scherzer, who broke his nose during a bunting drill on Tuesday, is still scheduled to start the second game of Wednesday's doubleheader against the Phillies.
Analysis: Nats GM Mike Rizzo did say Scherzer still needs to be cleared by doctors, though as of now it looks like he'll toe the rubber in the nightcap. The three-time Cy Young Award winner has been lights-out lately, having won his last three starts and posting a 1.06 ERA over his past five.
June 14 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 5-5, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 9 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-5, allowing six hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-5, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 15, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Monday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 6-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 2-5, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 14-6 on Friday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 6 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs - one earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Monday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-4, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 4-3 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST7:29 PM CST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on 11 hits in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 9-3 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 8.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-2, allowing four runs on eight hits in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 12-9 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-2 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and three walks in 7.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 2-0 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.