MLB Baseball

#33
James Shields
ERA W-L K
6.17 1-2 11
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 12/20/1981 Birthplace: Newhall, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 16th Round by Devil Rays (2000)


Latest News
Apr. 25 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Wednesday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-2, allowing seven runs on eight hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Houston Astros 10-0 on Friday. Shields struck out four, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-James Shields fell to 1-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 12-11 on Wednesday. Shields did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-James Shields allowed one run on four hits and five walks in 6.1 innings as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Wednesday. Shields struck out six, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-James Shields allowed three runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Chicago White Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 9-7 on Thursday. Shields struck out one, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-James Shields improved to 1-0, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago White Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 14-7 on Thursday. Shields did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 TB 6 8 0 - 0 21 21 1 124.2 141 69 67 18 38 5 104 1.44 4.84
2007 TB 12 8 0 - 0 31 31 1 215.0 202 98 92 28 36 0 184 1.11 3.85
2008 TB 14 8 0 - 0 33 33 3 215.0 208 94 85 24 40 0 160 1.15 3.56
2009 TB 11 12 0 - 0 33 33 0 219.2 239 113 101 29 52 1 167 1.32 4.14
2010 TB 13 15 0 - 0 34 33 0 203.1 246 128 117 34 51 2 187 1.46 5.18
2011 TB 16 12 0 - 0 33 33 11 249.1 195 83 78 26 65 1 225 1.04 2.82
2012 TB 15 10 0 - 0 33 33 3 227.2 208 103 89 25 58 2 223 1.17 3.52
2013 KC 13 9 0 - 0 34 34 2 228.2 215 82 80 20 68 0 196 1.24 3.15
2014 KC 14 8 0 - 0 34 34 1 227.0 224 95 81 23 44 0 180 1.18 3.21
2015 SD 13 7 0 - 0 33 33 0 202.1 189 93 88 33 81 5 216 1.33 3.91
2016 SD 2 7 0 - 0 11 11 0 67.1 69 33 32 9 27 2 57 1.43 4.28
2016 CWS 4 12 0 - 0 22 22 1 114.1 139 89 86 31 55 1 78 1.70 6.77
2016 Tot 6 19 0 - 0 33 33 1 181.2 208 122 118 40 82 3 135 1.60 5.85
2017 CWS 5 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 117.0 116 72 68 27 53 3 103 1.44 5.23
2018 CWS 1 2 0 - 0 5 4 0 23.1 27 16 16 1 13 0 11 1.71 6.17
Career 139 125 0 - 0 378 376 23 2434.2 2418 1168 1080 328 681 22 2091 1.27 3.99

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 TB 21 8 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .375 .375 .375
2007 TB 31 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2008 TB 34 4 2 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 .250 .400 .250
2009 TB 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2010 TB 34 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2011 TB 33 8 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 TB 33 5 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2013 KC 34 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2014 KC 34 7 1 2 1 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .429
2015 SD 36 68 7 9 2 0 0 2 1 28 0 0 .132 .145 .162
2016 SD 11 17 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .176 .176 .176
2016 CWS 22 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2016 Tot 33 21 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .190 .190 .190
Career 382 136 15 23 3 0 0 6 3 53 0 0 .169 .187 .191

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 TB Total 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 25.0 28 9 8 3 8 0 17 2.81
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 3 3 1 1 0 4 4.26
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 15 6 5 2 5 0 9 3.46
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 7 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
2010 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 4 4 4 1 0 0 2 8.31
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 4 4 4 1 0 0 2 8.31
2011 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 7 7 0 0 0 6 12.60
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 7 7 0 0 0 6 12.60
2014 KC Total 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 25.0 36 17 17 4 7 0 20 6.12
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 4 4 1 2 0 6 7.20
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 2 2 2 2 0 6 3.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 10 4 4 0 1 0 3 7.20
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 15 7 7 1 2 0 5 7.00
Career 3 6 0 - 0 11 11 0 59.1 76 37 36 8 15 0 45 5.46

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC Total 5 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 179 93 87 89.5 41.92
Curveball 114 82 67 78.1 26.7
Changeup 51 86 81 83.7 11.94
Cut Fastball 83 90 83 85.8 19.44

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.