MLB Baseball

#44
Jason Vargas
ERA W-L K
4.31 6-7 107
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-0 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1983 Birthplace: Apple Valley, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Marlins (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 15 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-8, allowing five runs - four earned - on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3 on Sunday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs - two earned - on six hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on four hits in 5.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Thursday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-7, allowing five runs on nine hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the New York Mets 6-3 on Saturday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Monday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Sunday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-6, allowing four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-1 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Friday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 6-5, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Sunday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 5-5, allowing one hit and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the San Diego Padres 5-2 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 4-5, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Minnesota Twins 14-4 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 12 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 3-5, allowing six runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 8-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Vargas allowed three runs - two earned - on one hit and three walks before leaving Sunday's start against the Cardinals after four innings with a cramp in his left calf.
Analysis: Vargas' removal was precautionary and he's expected to make his next scheduled start. The veteran lefty has been quite solid over the past few weeks, having posted a 2-1 record with a 2.03 ERA and 1.16 WHIP over his last five starts.
June 11 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 3-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the New York Yankees 10-4 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 2-3, allowing five hits and one walk in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Mets defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-0 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 31 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-3, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-0 on Thursday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 25 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST6:25 PM CST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Saturday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Vargas (left hamstring tightness) threw an extended bullpen Tuesday. He is eligible to come off the injured list Thursday.
Analysis: Vargas (1-2, 5.96) hasn't been very good, but the Mets could still use him with fellow rotation member Steven Matz also currently out with an injury.
May 5 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on three hits in 4.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Sunday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Vargas was removed for a pinch-hitter in the fifth inning after experiencing mild hamstring tightness, a tough break for a Mets team that needed some length from its starter after playing 18 innings on Saturday. "He had a lot of pitches left. It is just unfortunate," manager Mickey Callaway said.
Apr. 30 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-0 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 9.58 ERA and 2.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on two hits and three walks in 0.1 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-7 on Saturday. Vargas did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 14.21 ERA and 2.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on four hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Mets lost to the Minnesota Twins 14-8 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Fla 5 5 0 - 0 17 13 1 73.2 71 34 33 4 31 4 59 1.38 4.03
2006 Fla 1 2 0 - 0 12 5 0 43.0 50 39 35 9 30 3 25 1.86 7.33
2007 NYM 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.1 17 14 14 4 2 1 4 1.84 12.19
2009 Sea 3 6 0 - 0 23 14 0 91.2 98 53 50 16 24 1 54 1.33 4.91
2010 Sea 9 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 192.2 187 86 81 18 54 3 116 1.25 3.78
2011 Sea 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 4 201.0 205 105 95 22 59 4 131 1.31 4.25
2012 Sea 14 11 0 - 0 33 33 2 217.1 201 94 93 35 55 1 141 1.18 3.85
2013 LAA 9 8 0 - 0 24 24 3 150.0 162 68 67 17 46 2 109 1.39 4.02
2014 KC 11 10 0 - 0 30 30 1 187.0 197 82 77 19 41 4 128 1.27 3.71
2015 KC 5 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 43.0 46 20 19 5 12 0 27 1.35 3.98
2016 KC 0 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 12.0 8 3 3 1 3 0 11 0.92 2.25
2017 KC 18 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 179.2 181 84 83 27 58 2 134 1.33 4.16
2018 NYM 7 9 0 - 0 20 20 0 92.0 100 60 59 18 30 1 84 1.41 5.77
2019 NYM 6 5 0 - 0 19 18 1 94.1 81 45 42 14 39 2 81 1.27 4.01
2019 Phi 0 2 0 - 0 8 8 0 41.1 46 25 23 4 16 0 26 1.50 5.01
2019 Tot 6 7 0 - 0 27 26 1 135.2 127 70 65 18 55 2 107 1.34 4.31
Career 98 97 0 - 0 295 274 13 1629.0 1650 812 774 213 500 28 1130 1.32 4.28

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 Fla 18 26 3 8 2 0 0 2 1 7 0 0 .308 .333 .385
2006 Fla 12 16 1 5 1 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .313 .353 .375
2007 NYM 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Sea 23 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2010 Sea 31 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Sea 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Sea 33 5 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .400 .500 .400
2017 KC 32 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 NYM 21 27 2 4 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .148 .179 .148
2019 NYM 19 28 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 16 0 0 .071 .071 .071
2019 Phi 8 11 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2019 Tot 27 39 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 21 0 0 .077 .077 .077
Career 297 131 8 24 3 0 0 4 4 46 0 0 .183 .207 .206

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 KC Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 11 6 6 3 6 0 11 3.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 3.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 2 1 1 1 3 0 6 1.69
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 3 3 0 2 0 3 6.75
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 11 6 6 3 6 0 11 3.52

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1246 88 80 84.3 50.04
Curveball 361 76 66 70.5 14.5
Changeup 883 82 74 78.7 35.46

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.