MLB Baseball

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
6.71 3-7 60
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 234
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Mercer Island, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 26 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-7, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Saturday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 6.71 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-7, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 6.96 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-6, allowing two hits and four walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 1-6, allowing seven runs on eight hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 19-0 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 7.63 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 1-5, allowing two runs on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 2-0 on Friday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.64 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 12:29 PM PT1:29 PM MT2:29 PM CT3:29 PM ET15:29 ET19:29 GMT3:29 12:29 PM MST2:29 PM EST1:29 PM CST2:59 PM VEN23:29 UAE2:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-2 on Saturday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 7.27 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-4, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with an 8.48 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-3, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-2 on Monday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 9.64 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST2:26 PM CST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-2, allowing seven runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 10.24 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed seven runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 17-13 on Friday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 9.20 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
July 29 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed four runs on nine hits in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
July 24 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST7:01 PM CST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-1 on Friday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.1 146 87 83 27 51 0 159 1.16 4.39
2019 Det 9 12 0 - 0 32 32 0 185.1 178 101 94 39 50 1 238 1.23 4.56
2020 Det 3 7 0 - 0 12 12 1 60.1 67 46 45 15 22 0 60 1.48 6.71
Career 34 54 0 - 0 134 130 2 705.2 716 419 398 133 225 4 692 1.33 5.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 32 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 134 7 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .286 .286 .286


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 572 94 87 91.7 52.67
Curveball 80 77 70 74.1 7.37
Slider 242 83 76 79.4 22.28
Changeup 192 82 76 79.1 17.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.