MLB Baseball

#52
Michael Wacha
ERA W-L K
4.76 6-7 104
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/1/1991 Birthplace: Iowa City, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 25 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 1.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-7 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST3:26 PM CST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Wacha departed Wednesday's game against Arizona with right shoulder tightness.
Analysis: Wacha only made it into the second inning before being pulled after a discussion with a trainer.
Sep. 20 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST4:21 PM CST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed five hits without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-6 on Sunday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 6-7, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 2-1 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST10:03 PM CST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 9-8 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Saturday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.07 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST6:27 PM CST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 11-4 on Sunday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.24 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 6-6, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 2-1 on Thursday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 6-5, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Monday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on six hits in 4.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Houston Astros 8-2 on Saturday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Monday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 6-4, allowing three hits over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 12-11 on Friday. Wacha struck out one, ending the game with a 5.42 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 4 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST5:13 PM CST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Thursday. Wacha did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
June 29 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 5-4, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Friday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.30 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST9:45 PM CST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 5-3, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Friday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 4-3, allowing six runs - five earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 8-7 on Saturday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 4-2, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 4-1 on Monday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
June 5 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 30 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST10:09 PM CST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed six runs on five hits and three walks in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 11-4 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 6.61 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 3-2, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-2 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 3-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-0 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 9 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 3-0, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 17-4 on Thursday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed five runs - four earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Saturday. Wacha struck out four, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 2-0, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Washington Nationals 6-3 on Monday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST10:52 AM CST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Wacha (left knee) came off the injured list Monday to start at Washington.
Analysis: After being limited to 15 starts last season because of a left oblique strain, Wacha has gone 1-0 and allowed two runs or fewer in three of his first four outings.
Apr. 11 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed seven runs on eight hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-7 on Thursday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits and eight walks in 5.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 6-4 on Saturday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.54 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Sunday. Wacha struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 4 1 0 - 1 15 9 0 64.2 52 20 20 5 19 0 65 1.10 2.78
2014 StL 5 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 107.0 95 41 38 6 33 0 94 1.20 3.20
2015 StL 17 7 0 - 0 30 30 0 181.1 162 74 68 19 58 4 153 1.21 3.38
2016 StL 7 7 0 - 0 27 24 0 138.0 159 86 78 15 45 6 114 1.48 5.09
2017 StL 12 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 165.2 170 82 76 17 55 3 158 1.36 4.13
2018 StL 8 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 84.1 68 36 30 9 36 0 71 1.23 3.20
2019 StL 6 7 0 - 0 29 24 0 126.2 143 71 67 26 55 4 104 1.56 4.76
Career 59 39 0 - 1 165 151 1 867.2 849 410 377 97 301 17 759 1.33 3.91

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 15 21 0 3 0 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2014 StL 19 29 1 1 0 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .034 .034 .034
2015 StL 30 52 5 8 1 0 0 4 4 20 1 0 .154 .214 .173
2016 StL 27 39 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 22 0 0 .026 .095 .026
2017 StL 30 46 3 2 0 0 0 3 1 22 0 0 .043 .063 .043
2018 StL 15 25 3 2 0 0 0 1 1 9 0 0 .080 .115 .080
2019 StL 29 36 3 6 1 0 0 3 0 21 0 0 .167 .167 .194
Career 165 248 16 23 2 0 0 16 9 122 1 0 .093 .124 .101

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 16 9 9 3 12 3 33 2.64
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 1 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.23
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.2 7 0 0 0 2 1 13 0.00
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 8 8 8 2 8 2 11 7.45
2014 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
2015 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
Career 4 3 0 - 0 7 6 0 35.1 24 16 16 7 16 4 38 4.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL Total 5 7 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 StL Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 7 9 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1120 98 88 93.1 50.93
Curveball 227 79 72 75.3 10.32
Changeup 522 89 82 85.6 23.74
Cut Fastball 330 93 85 89.4 15.01

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.