MLB Baseball

#47
Frankie Montas
ERA W-L K
2.70 9-2 97
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-2 / 245
Position: SPBorn: 3/21/1993 Birthplace: Sainagua, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2009)


Latest News
June 21 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST3:09 PM CST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Montas has been suspended 80 games by Major League Baseball for testing positive for a banned performance-enhancing substance.
Analysis: This may help explain Montas' breakout season, as he's 9-2 with a 2.70 ERA and 97 strikeouts in 15 starts while emerging as the top arm in the A's rotation. It's obviously a major blow to an Oakland team that's facing an uphill climb to make the playoffs for a second straight year.
June 21 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Frankie Montas allowed one run on four hits in 8.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Thursday. Montas struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 16 9:11 PM PT10:11 PM MT11:11 PM CT12:11 AM ET0:11 ET4:11 GMT12:11 9:11 PM MST11:11 PM EST10:11 PM CST11:41 PM VEN8:11 UAE11:11 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 9-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Seattle Mariners 11-2 on Saturday. Montas struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 9 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST5:38 PM CST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 8-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Texas Rangers 9-8 on Sunday. Montas struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 7-2, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-2 on Tuesday. Montas struck out three, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 29 10:42 PM PT11:42 PM MT12:42 AM CT1:42 AM ET1:42 ET5:42 GMT13:42 10:42 PM MST12:42 AM EST11:42 PM CST1:12 AM VEN9:42 UAE12:42 AM CT-Frankie Montas allowed four runs on four hits and five walks in 4.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-4 on Tuesday. Montas struck out five, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 6-2, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Wednesday. Montas struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 17 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 5-2, allowing two runs on four hits in 8.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Friday. Montas struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 11 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Frankie Montas allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-3 on Friday. Montas struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 5 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Frankie Montas allowed one run on five hits in 6.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3 on Sunday. Montas struck out five, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Frankie Montas fell to 4-2, allowing seven runs - one earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-4 on Monday. Montas struck out four, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 10:27 PM PT11:27 PM MT12:27 AM CT1:27 AM ET1:27 ET5:27 GMT13:27 10:27 PM MST12:27 AM EST11:27 PM CST12:57 AM VEN9:27 UAE12:27 AM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 4-1, allowing three runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Texas Rangers 11-5 on Tuesday. Montas struck out six, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 3-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Wednesday. Montas struck out six, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Wednesday. Montas struck out three, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Frankie Montas fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 3-2 on Friday. Montas struck out five, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST4:50 PM CST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Frankie Montas improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Sunday. Montas struck out six, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 CWS 0 2 0 - 0 7 2 0 15.0 14 8 8 1 9 1 20 1.53 4.80
2017 Oak 1 1 0 - 0 23 0 0 32.0 39 25 25 10 20 0 36 1.84 7.03
2018 Oak 5 4 0 - 0 13 11 0 65.0 74 34 28 5 21 0 43 1.46 3.88
2019 Oak 9 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 90.0 80 34 27 7 21 1 97 1.12 2.70
Career 15 9 0 - 0 58 28 0 202.0 207 101 88 23 71 2 196 1.38 3.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Oak 13 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Oak 15 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 58 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .000 .143 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 795 100 93 96.6 56.87
Slider 350 92 84 88.5 25.04
Split-Finger 253 90 83 86.8 18.1

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.